Is this bridge too high? Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Alembic Club » Owning an Alembic » Troubleshooting » Is this bridge too high? « Previous Next »

Author Message
deepwood
New
Username: deepwood

Post Number: 10
Registered: 1-2011
Posted on Tuesday, August 16, 2011 - 4:51 pm:   Edit Post

Recently purchased a 96 Rogue 5 string. The action is great, intonation spot on, and the bass stays in tune. There is also a small amount of relief in the neck as one would want. However, the bridge seems really high to me. The bridge height of my 96 Rogue 4 is much lower. Check this out:
96 AR5 Pups 96 AR5 Top

Any inputs/comments are appreciated.

Gratefully,
Ty.
mica
Moderator
Username: mica

Post Number: 7411
Registered: 6-2000
Posted on Tuesday, August 16, 2011 - 7:14 pm:   Edit Post

It looks like the bridge block is mighty low - so the bridge is higher to compensate.

Usually the bridge block is flush with the top. I've seen people sink them in lower and have done it on custom request a few times.

There is no one correct bridge height - if it's set to where you like the action, I wouldn't worry about.
deepwood
Junior
Username: deepwood

Post Number: 11
Registered: 1-2011
Posted on Tuesday, August 16, 2011 - 7:43 pm:   Edit Post

Many thanks for the feedback Mica!

I'd say the bridge block is sunk in about 2mm. My only concern would be future adjustment. As I said, right now, it plays like a dream. Perhaps raising the bridge block is not really practical?

Please know it is a real honor to communicate with you, and hard to express my gratitude for the world of tone your family has brought to the planet.

Rock steady,
Ty.
mica
Moderator
Username: mica

Post Number: 7412
Registered: 6-2000
Posted on Tuesday, August 16, 2011 - 7:51 pm:   Edit Post

Thanks, Ty - just doing our jobs here! I'm continually honored by the folks who keep supporting our craft.

If you run out of vertical adjustment range, you could remove the wood screw that anchors the bridge block in place and shim it up with wood or brass, or have a new block made that is flush with the top, or even proud of it if that's what you needed.

We will be adding a kit to the online store soon for freshening up bridges of this age with the newer stainless steel height and intonation screws. The ones you have look a little rusty, which isn't surprising.
deepwood
Junior
Username: deepwood

Post Number: 13
Registered: 1-2011
Posted on Friday, August 10, 2012 - 2:07 pm:   Edit Post

Hello Alembic Family!
Needing to give some love to this Rogue fiver. Does anyone know if the stainless steel height and intonation screw kits are available at this time? I've checked the Alembic Store over the last year and haven't seen them yet. Perhaps I should just disassemble use the Flitz cleaner/polish? Any comments/work-arounds/insight is much appreciated.
mica
Moderator
Username: mica

Post Number: 7839
Registered: 6-2000
Posted on Friday, August 10, 2012 - 2:29 pm:   Edit Post

Well, I guess I better get to adding it - this slipped off of my radar.

You can't really polish the rust off the screws. But the Flitz will work great on the brass parts of the bridge.
deepwood
Junior
Username: deepwood

Post Number: 14
Registered: 1-2011
Posted on Saturday, August 11, 2012 - 12:51 am:   Edit Post

Oh Mica, when I think of what it must be like to be air traffic control at the Mothership... Your radar works just fine (-: And I need to tell ya, my '96 Rogue 4 delivers so beautifully. Just got home from a great gig- even the horn players were were all gushy about that big round Alembic sound. All the positive vibration is headed in y'alls direction! In gratitude, Ty.
mica
Moderator
Username: mica

Post Number: 7840
Registered: 6-2000
Posted on Tuesday, August 14, 2012 - 3:38 pm:   Edit Post

Thanks for the kind words!

I threw this together:

rehab
order bridge rehab kit in store

Just since little things have a tendency to fly around, I added the aircraft fasteners too. The only other tool needed is a 5/32" wrench for the aircraft fasteners.
davehouck
Moderator
Username: davehouck

Post Number: 10849
Registered: 5-2002
Posted on Tuesday, August 14, 2012 - 5:01 pm:   Edit Post

Cool!
terryc
Senior Member
Username: terryc

Post Number: 1944
Registered: 11-2004
Posted on Thursday, August 16, 2012 - 3:31 am:   Edit Post

My 93 MK bridge screws got some surface rust on them ages ago and being the amateur restorer I am I disassembled the bridge, removed the rust with a chemical rust remover and re sprayed with a black laquer..but that's me!

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Username: Posting Information:
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration