Distillate Bass Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Alembic Club » Owning an Alembic » Troubleshooting » Distillate Bass « Previous Next »

Author Message
lovguitar
New
Username: lovguitar

Post Number: 5
Registered: 7-2013
Posted on Tuesday, July 30, 2013 - 8:29 pm:   Edit Post

Greetings! I am helping out my buddy Mike with his new (to him) Distillate Bass. Someone had replaced the bass boost switch with another non matching switch and did very sloppy wiring. Mike ordered a new switch which came pre-wired but with a setup that doesn't match what's in this bass. Mike got a schematic and that was somewhat helpful but what would REALLY help is either a detailed photo or drawing (Layout) of the bass boost and treble boost switches. I'd be much appreciate and so would Mike!!!!
mica
Moderator
Username: mica

Post Number: 8010
Registered: 6-2000
Posted on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 3:33 pm:   Edit Post

Perhaps you could send/post an image of the original electronics and we can confirm what you have. Then we can get you the details you need to make the repairs.
lovguitar
New
Username: lovguitar

Post Number: 6
Registered: 7-2013
Posted on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 6:19 pm:   Edit Post

Thanks Mica -- I'll try to attach photos. I removed the components from the new switch you sent and reattached components that were previously in place in the bass on the non-standard switch that was in there when Mike bought it. I re-soldered them exactly as they were soldered on the non-standard switch except much neater : )

Paul

Distillate control cavity

close up of replaced switch - with new switch wired in

Alembic Distillate Front View

(Message edited by mica on July 31, 2013)
mica
Moderator
Username: mica

Post Number: 8011
Registered: 6-2000
Posted on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 6:55 pm:   Edit Post

I'll need to check tomorrow with Mary/Tony and see what they sent you to start sorting this out. Thanks for the clear pics!

So I can understand, what is the exact problem you're running into now that the replacement switch is installed and rewired?
lovguitar
New
Username: lovguitar

Post Number: 7
Registered: 7-2013
Posted on Wednesday, July 31, 2013 - 9:45 pm:   Edit Post

Thanks Mica!! I actually don't know if there IS a problem. Both pickups work, the pickup selector switch works (although strangely -- it has 8 possible settings -- I think that the 4 settings are repeated 180 degrees around. The treble boost works, the bass boost doesn't seem to work too well, although it does change the sound (at least in two positions) on some settings of the other control. I notice that the bass boost is only noticeable if I set my amp at settings that emphasize low frequencies. The main issue was really that the switch had been replaced sloppily and the wiring looks like it's been cobbled together. I have made it look much neater. It made us suspicious. I want to get it right for Mike -- he's a really good guy and this is important to him. Thank you again for your kindness! Paul

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Username: Posting Information:
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration