How to use an F2B with an SF2 stereo? Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Alembic Club » Alembic Basses & Guitars » How to use an F2B with an SF2 stereo? « Previous Next »

Author Message
echo008
Senior Member
Username: echo008

Post Number: 433
Registered: 2-2003
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 7:24 am:   Edit Post

Hello, I was wondering... I am looking to put together an alembic rig using an f2b with an sf2.
I am planning on using this with my Ric 4003, that is planning on using the stereo jack to send the neck pup to channel 1 and the bridge to channel 2 of the f2b. I was then just simply going to use the single channel out of the f2b to my cabinets.
My question is how do I incorporate both channels of the sf2?
How do I have corresponding channels?
Meaning neck pickup uses channel 1 of both
And bridge uses channel 2 of both.
Thank you for any help!
T
hieronymous
Senior Member
Username: hieronymous

Post Number: 1407
Registered: 1-2005
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 10:17 am:   Edit Post

If you want to use the SF-2 in stereo and the F-2B to sum the two channels, then I think you will have to go into the SF-2 first (in stereo mode - switch on the back), then run into each channel of the F-2B. Shouldn't be too bad. Are you going into a power amp? You will need something to power your speakers.

Shouldn't be too hard - do you own either an F-2B or SF-2? Both are excellent units - even in mono!
echo008
Senior Member
Username: echo008

Post Number: 434
Registered: 2-2003
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 10:24 am:   Edit Post

Hello, Thank you for posting... yes I have owned an SF2, as well I have owned an F1X. but never had two together, I would usually use the Sf2 in my effects loop.

So I would use the Sf2 first but not use the input on the SF2 for the bass, Could I still use the F2B's two front inputs to seperate my signal from the Ric?
Thanks again
lbpesq
Senior Member
Username: lbpesq

Post Number: 5823
Registered: 7-2004
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 10:47 am:   Edit Post

Are you trying to set up a stereo rig, or will it be summed to mono? If it will be mono, I'd suggest using the SF-2 in mono mode, using one channel to accentuate highs and the other to accentuate lows. Then turn down both channels to 0, get the mix you like with the dry channel, and finally mix in the high and low channels to tweak your sound just the way you like it. At least that's how I do it in my guitar rig.

Bill, tgo
jazzyvee
Senior Member
Username: jazzyvee

Post Number: 4200
Registered: 6-2002
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 11:07 am:   Edit Post

I agree with you Harry. I have two F1-x's and an SF-2 and I had a conversation with Will Gunn ( alembic dealer) about bi-amping and he recalled a chat he had with Ron Wickersham where the advice he gave was to plug the two outputs from your bass into the inputs at the back of the SF-2 then the outputs from that goes into the input of the F1-x. On that basis I would think that would be one a good way to use it with an F2-B. Then once you have the signal in your your F2-b you have a choice then on what your output needs to be.
Be sure to have the direct gain on each SF-2 Channel fully open.


However if you were going into bi-amping instead of mono then you could also experiment with going from your bass into the F2-b first then the A & B outs into the two inputs to the SF-2 then out to your stereo power amp.



SF-2



F2-B


(Message edited by jazzyvee on September 04, 2014)

(Message edited by jazzyvee on September 04, 2014)
hieronymous
Senior Member
Username: hieronymous

Post Number: 1408
Registered: 1-2005
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 11:27 am:   Edit Post

Wait, just checking here - your 4003 has the stereo Rick-O-Sound output, right? If so, then you need a cable to split the signal - one end will be stereo, that will split into two mono cables. Plug each mono cable into each channel of the SF-2, then each SF-2 out into each channel of the F-2B, then the summed output of the F-2B into your amp.

But I think Bill's suggestion is good too - the SF-2 works great in mono - you can still get a great variety of sounds without sending each pickup on its own.
echo008
Senior Member
Username: echo008

Post Number: 435
Registered: 2-2003
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 11:33 am:   Edit Post

Thanks guys, this is very educational!
Yes I'm going to output mono from to he f2b
Plugging into the back of the sf2 makes perfect sense to me then going out to the front of the f2b, then using the mono output into the power amp etc
I couldn't picture that before but again it makes very good sense now :-)
hieronymous
Senior Member
Username: hieronymous

Post Number: 1409
Registered: 1-2005
Posted on Thursday, September 04, 2014 - 11:41 am:   Edit Post

It sounds like fun! Those pictures that jazzyvee posted help a lot too.
echo008
Senior Member
Username: echo008

Post Number: 436
Registered: 2-2003
Posted on Tuesday, September 09, 2014 - 4:50 am:   Edit Post

Hello again, speaking specifically about the F2B. Can I run an effects loop pedal out of the "M" ouput channel.
meaning M output >effects loop pedal IN >out of effects loop pedal to the power amp?

I want to use my EBS Multi Comp and Wah One for both channels.
would this be ok?
Thanks again for any advice it is appereciated.
hieronymous
Senior Member
Username: hieronymous

Post Number: 1411
Registered: 1-2005
Posted on Tuesday, September 09, 2014 - 6:17 pm:   Edit Post

Compressor I wouldn't worry about too much, though you will want to be careful balancing the gain coming into & out of the comp. Sounds to me like putting a comp in an effects loop between the pre- & power amp.

I would think a wah would want to be somewhere near the beginning - maybe just put it on the bridge pickup signal chain? That way you keep the clean depth of the neck pickup. One reason to run a stereo rig is to be able to have part of the signal clean, effects on the other.
keith_h
Senior Member
Username: keith_h

Post Number: 2078
Registered: 2-2005
Posted on Tuesday, September 09, 2014 - 7:25 pm:   Edit Post

You are dealing with line level outputs from the F-2B and most stomp boxes are instrument level. This means you will generally not get good results due to impedance mismatches and too high of a signal level coming from the preamp outputs. Your best bet is to do as Harry suggested and run one input channel with effects and the other dry. Alternatives would be to replace the pedals with an effects processor or have buffers built to allow you to use the stomp boxes at line level.

Keith
echo008
Senior Member
Username: echo008

Post Number: 437
Registered: 2-2003
Posted on Wednesday, September 10, 2014 - 8:47 am:   Edit Post

Maybe, I wont use the MultiComp at this point. But I was hoping to avoid having to split the cable run to the F2B, meaning Ric > Wah >F2B. Not a big deal, but was wanting to keep the cable run intially direct to the preamp. which was why I thought maybe of using an external effects loop out of the "M" channel.
Using an outboard processor is something to look at for the future maybe, but Im not really an "effects" guy, I just liked what the EBS stuff does, I like using the multicomp with the ric, it definitely brings out a little more sparkle and punch, but I can always adjust further with the F2B, also eventually I do plan on integrating an SF2.
- T

Add Your Message Here
Post:
Username: Posting Information:
This is a private posting area. Only registered users and moderators may post messages here.
Password:
Options: Enable HTML code in message
Automatically activate URLs in message
Action:

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration