Adding Q-Filter to an Epic Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Alembic Club » Dreaming... for now » Archive through June 16, 2008 » Adding Q-Filter to an Epic « Previous Next »

Author Message
Username: anthenium

Post Number: 8
Registered: 11-2007
Posted on Monday, November 19, 2007 - 4:56 am:   Edit Post

I'm wondering how hard it would be to modify an Epic to accept the Higher-End Alembic basses Q-Filter? Has anyone done this before? Will the MXY Pups work with these electronics?

Senior Member
Username: keith_h

Post Number: 904
Registered: 2-2005
Posted on Monday, November 19, 2007 - 6:19 am:   Edit Post

It can be done. You have several options. One is to replace the existing electronics with a filter and I recommend Q-switch. This should not require any new holes. Another option is add the filter and Q-switch to the existing controls. This is called the East Meet West package. For this you will have to drill holes and maybe increase the cavity size. Lastly you could go with filters for each pickup. and optionally Q-switches. Depending upon what you do here you might or might not have to modify the bass. Add to this separate volumes for each pickup or a volume/pan as you have now and things can get pretty wild.

The best thing is to just call Alembic for prices and advice on which is the best way to go. They are great folks to work with and are always happy to help.

Senior Member
Username: adriaan

Post Number: 1690
Registered: 6-2002
Posted on Monday, November 19, 2007 - 6:20 am:   Edit Post

You can replace the B/T controls with a filter and a Q switch, without any soldering - it's all modular, and the connectors are of the click-on type. So it should be an easy thing to do.

You may need a spacer to mount the Q switch in the hole where the B or T pot used to sit - except if you have an older Epic, which has pots with a narrow shaft. In that case you need a filter pot with the narrow shaft.

Another option would be to add a filter to your BT controls, but you'll need to drill two holes, and the control cavity needs to be large enough.
Senior Member
Username: jazzyvee

Post Number: 1007
Registered: 6-2002
Posted on Tuesday, November 27, 2007 - 12:00 am:   Edit Post

I changed the electronics in my Orion Guitar from the Bass & Treble to Filter & Q-switch. Everything fitted except having to use a small washer to mount the Q-switch as the hole size was different.
All the bits are modular and just plug together without any soldering.

Advanced Member
Username: keurosix

Post Number: 218
Registered: 10-2005
Posted on Sunday, December 09, 2007 - 8:23 pm:   Edit Post

I replaced the Bass & Treble control with the Alembic "AE-2" 3 position Q switch and filter on my Epic 5 string. It was easy. No modifications were necessary. You might be able to find a few threads about this here on the forum in the archives.

In this pic, you can see Vol, Pan, Filter, and Q switch in the original holes - No need to drill!


Advanced Member
Username: keurosix

Post Number: 219
Registered: 10-2005
Posted on Tuesday, December 11, 2007 - 7:39 pm:   Edit Post

Here is a close up of the controls with the AE-2 installed. Sorry, it's a bit fuzzy.



Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration