Ebay Series II $2000.00 Log Out | Topics | Search
Moderators | Register | Edit Profile

Alembic Club » Swap Shop and Wish Lists » Seen on craigslist, eBay, and elsewhere » Archive through December 19, 2010 » Ebay Series II $2000.00 « Previous Next »

Author Message
Intermediate Member
Username: alemboid

Post Number: 131
Registered: 5-2003
Posted on Sunday, December 12, 2010 - 10:56 pm:   Edit Post

Something smells funny....
Check this out- http://cgi.ebay.com/Alembic-Series-II-bass-guitar-PRISTINE-AND-STUNNING-/370466066825?pt=Guitar_Accessories&hash=item56417f9189

There is a Series II on ebay with a Buy It Now price of $2,000.00

It's a 14 hour auction that was listed 57 times!

Not so bad- I needed a chuckle!
Username: slarty

Post Number: 5
Registered: 2-2006
Posted on Sunday, December 12, 2010 - 11:21 pm:   Edit Post

So, that's a hijacked account, right? I mean, the seller's account has a longstanding good reputation. So how does this work? You contact the seller, the hijacker intercepts the communication, then you receive payment information directing it to the hijacker? But what's the strategy in listing it 57 times over, thus making it obvious it's a fraud? It seems to me if you listed just one, you could easily hook a fish.
Senior Member
Username: bsee

Post Number: 2513
Registered: 3-2004
Posted on Monday, December 13, 2010 - 12:14 am:   Edit Post

Looks very hijacked. The special rules and off-the-books low buy now make it easy for someone to bite on it quickly before the account owner or eBay catches on. I suspect the rules will include a requirement of payment immediately to secure the instrument so that the scam can be completed before the authorities can react to it. There are other desirable instruments listed on that account as well and they seem to share the same email address and rules gibberish. They are very different from the other listings for the real account owner.
Intermediate Member
Username: musashi

Post Number: 131
Registered: 5-2004
Posted on Monday, December 13, 2010 - 12:15 am:   Edit Post

It's been some time since I've dealt with ebay. Where is the location info for the seller? And where do you see information that the item has been listed 57 times?

Intermediate Member
Username: alemboid

Post Number: 133
Registered: 5-2003
Posted on Monday, December 13, 2010 - 12:24 am:   Edit Post

When it was posted, the ad was repeated for 2 pages! So I counted 57 duplicated ads. What better way to show its a bogus ad?
Username: slarty

Post Number: 6
Registered: 2-2006
Posted on Monday, December 13, 2010 - 1:11 am:   Edit Post

Just do an eBay search on "alembic" you'll see this same ad repeated. Clicking on the seller's "ME" link, they're located in Shanghai. Apparently they sell quite a bit of legitimate Tibet stuff.

Presumably, the payment terms are something like using Western Union to wire the funds to China, so you have no way to recover the funds or begin tracing the culprit. Maybe some other location, but the errors in the instructions' English are consistent with the kinds of mistakes Chinese speakers make with English (like not using "the").

But wouldn't anyone who might fall for this scam also see the 56 other ads and immediately know it's a scam?
Username: samophlange

Post Number: 11
Registered: 5-2009
Posted on Monday, December 13, 2010 - 5:47 am:   Edit Post

There's the same thing going on with a Ritter Jupiter as well. Nothing like that split second joy seeing a low buy price only to have it smashed to bits by seeing the bazillion duplicate listings...
Username: artswork99

Post Number: 1349
Registered: 7-2007
Posted on Monday, December 13, 2010 - 7:08 am:   Edit Post

Same thing a couple of weeks ago here...

Topics | Last Day | Last Week | Tree View | Search | Help/Instructions | Program Credits Administration